Doug Dillon Blog Tour

Image

If you are just now joining Doug Dillon’s Blog Tour, this is the second half of an Excerpt from Stepping Off A Cliff, the first half you can find here: http://kainas.com posted on January 20th.

Excerpt from Stepping Off a Cliff

The St. Augustine Trilogy Book 2

Coming Late Spring / Early Summer This Year!

Image

Gasping for Air

Oh God, it was so good to see her and as I stared, she lifted a hand very slowly and gave me a tiny wave. I waved back, wanting desperately to be with her but I knew that sure wasn’t going to happen any time soon.

Above us, the inner wall of the vortex snaked its way up into total darkness. That made me realize the source of light making it possible for us to see came from somewhere below.

With a little effort, I tilted my head enough so I could look down. I’m telling you what, squinting into that blasting, Arctic-like wind really ripped the hell out of my eyes but below my feet, way far away, I saw a pulsating, sparkling, circular glow. Whatever it was, it kept shifting all around, I guess because the inner walls of the vortex were constantly moving in different directions.

The longer I focused on the glow, the bigger it got and the more it seemed like I was dropping towards a million twinkling stars. Or, maybe all those lights are heading for us, a thought came to me right before we passed through it. Or, maybe it passed through us. I really don’t know which.

When I say “through,” I mean exactly that. It happened so fast, but I definitely felt a slight prickly sensation start at my feet and fire all the way through every part of my body. For a split second, my vision filled with rushing sparkles and then it was gone. Immediately, I looked up and saw that glittering mass shoot up through the twisting hole above us at an unbelievable rate of speed and out of sight. Only then did I notice some sort of sharp smell but I couldn’t identify it.

A second or two later, I hit water. The impact forced the stuff up my nose, into my mouth and into my eyes—salt water—cool, but not cold. Definitely warmer than the inside of that nasty vortex. And yeah, I did say salt water. At the same time, a sharp pain ripped through my left hand.

Choking and gagging, I tried to swim but found both of my hands stuck in what felt like cool, squishy mud. I had to really struggle to pull them loose but I finally did and wildly paddled a few feet upward until my head popped through the surface. Gasping for air, I found I was able to stand up in the muck below about

four feet of water. Right next to me, Carla was doing the same thing.

Glancing around quickly through stinging eyes, at first I found it impossible to focus on anything in the distance. Blinking rapidly and smelling the gross stink of tidal mud, a lot of marsh grass finally came into view against a backdrop of clear blue sky. Beyond that? A few old buildings and two men about forty feet away standing on a high bank of sand looking down at us. One guy’s face was shaded by a hat he wore but the other looked an awful lot like Lobo.

The St. Augustine Trilogy Book 1

6. Book I cover

Sliding Beneath the Surface Book Trailer

Image

Where can everyone find your books? What social media sites are you on?

Buy Links:

Click to Buy E-book:

Click to Buy Print Book:

Image

Author Links

Blog
Web Page
Twitter
Facebook
Central
Goodreads

Tour Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Promotional Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

SLIDING BENEATH THE SURFACE OFFICIAL BLOG TOUR JAN 8-22!!!

SCHEDULE / HEADINGS / STOPS

January 8th
Bio & Review Intoxicated by Books
Christina Irelan
http://intoxicatedbybooks.blogspot.com/2013/01/author-doug-dillons-bio-early-years-up.html

January 9th
Interview & Review w/ Books N Brownies
Jennifer Martinez:
http://booksnbrownies.com/doug-dillon-blog-tour/

January 10th
Sypnosis & Review Best Books
Alice Priday
http://bestbooks89.blogspot.co.nz/2013/01/doug-dillon-blog-tour.html

January 11th Friday Spotlight & Guest Post Jean BookNerd
Jean Vallesteros
http://www.jeanbooknerd.com/2013/01/guest-post-with-doug-dillon.html

January 12th
Top 10 Favorite & Review Passionate Books
Samantha Atkin
http://passionatebooks.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/sliding-beneath-surface.html

January 13th Sunday Blurb & Review with My Home Away From Home
MHAFH
http://www.officialmhafh.com/2013/01/blog-tour-sliding-beneath-surface-by.html

January 14th
Interview with Cynthia Shepp Book Reviews and Editing
Cynthia Shepp
http://cynthiashepp.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/sliding-beneath-the-surface-blog-tour-interview-with-doug-dillion/

January 15th Tuesday Doug’s 10 Writing Tips Post Airicka Phoenix
Airicka Phoenix ~ Author
http://airickaphoenix.com/Author/?p=2470

January 16th
Chapter & Review w/ Addicted 2 Book Reviews
Jennifer Moody
http://addicted2bookreviews.blogspot/ (dot) com/2013/01/sliding-beneath-surface-blog-tour.html

January 17th
Dream Cast & Review Mom of 2 Book Reviews
Samantha Truesdale
http://momof2bookreviews.com/2013/01/17/sliding-beneath-the-surface-by-doug-dillon-blog-tour-review-and-giveaway

January 18th
Guest Chapter & Review Cassie Reviews De-la-mazing
Cassie Chavez
http://cassiesreviewsde-la-mazing.blogspot.com/2013/01/my-day-on-sliding-beneath-surface-blog.html

January 19th
Spotlight & Review Paranormal-bookclub
Bella Colella
http://paranormal-bookclub.com/blog-stop-with-review-and-giveaway-come-see/

January 20th
Excerpt Stepping & Review As You Wish Reviews
Julia Hendrix
http://asyouwishreviews.blogspot.com/2013/01/sliding-beneath-surface-blog-tour.html

January 21st
This and That & Review Ideas Captured
Stephen Ormsby
http://www.ideascaptured.com/blog/2013/01/21/2553/

January 22nd
Excerpt Stepping & Review Readers After Dark
Heather Almendarez
https://readersafterdark.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/doug-dillon-blog-tour/

3 Comments

  1. To Read the first half of the Chapter from Stepping Off A Cliff please go to this blog post. The link above is a closed blog and no longer active.
    http://asyouwishreviews.blogspot.com/2013/01/sliding-beneath-surface-blog-tour.html

  2. Thank you for the Blog Host for participating in this tour!

  3. Loved the excerpt! I cant wait to find out what the hell is going on.
    thanks for hosting!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • melissa andrea

    Create. Inspre. Dare,

    Abdulhafeez Dangusau's Blog

    Meant to motivate/inspire/give u hacking tips nd give u Information Tech essentials (may be tricks)

    rileyreads

    A teen book and movie review blog

    Anastasia Vitsky

    Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

    Break Room Stories

    Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

    Being an Author

    Hints and guidance for writing your novel provided by the Paperback Diva. For any genre, any level of experience.

    Jan Moran's Smart & Stylish: Ideas to enrich your lifestyle

    Advice for the Good Life. Books, travel, entrepreneurship, beauty.

    Woodland Rambles

    A writer, a dog, and miles of trails

    Beth Ann Masarik

    Young Adult and New Adult author

    Bookish Babbles

    Reviews, Spotlights and Author info galore

    Book Monster Reviews

    Everything paranormal romance

    C.L. Parker

    Everything paranormal romance

    Judi Fennell

    fairy tales with a twist

    Jessa Slade

    Author of Paranormal Romance

    Lisa's Lair

    Online Home of Author Lisa Kessler

    Drake Braxton Author

    M/M Author Sharing Stories

    Way Out Texas Crime (and) Fiction

    Jay Allen, Detective and Wordsmith

    CAT JOHNSON

    NY Times & USA Today Bestselling Romance Author

    ReadersAfterDark

    Everything paranormal romance

    sharkmomma

    adventures in writing...

    C.J.'s Daily Grind

    A writer's journey to create a new urban fantasy with vampires, werewolves and lots of hot sex.

    WEDDING HAIR TEXAS

    Official Website

    Common Sense

    A little Common Sense in a world of chaos

    Martial Way Academy

    Martial Arts & Fitness Education At Its Best!!!

