Desolation Blog Tour

desolation

I am honored to welcome Travis Simmons and his amazing book Desolation.

Desolation 

by author Travis Simmons

Asher St Paul thought it was just a typical zombie apocalypse like in the movies, until the necromancers crawled out of the woodwork.

Since the undead have chased the living into hiding, the necromancers are able to roam

freely in a new America of their making. Asher is seeking safe harbor. The need for safety is what drove him from his home in Philadelphia

Pennsylvania before it was shelled. He has searched from quarantine to quarantine, always finding them overrun with zombies until he

hears of The Refuge, a military compound in Binghamton New York.

With his family and lover lain to rest by his own hand, he has nothing left to lose and gives

everything he has to reach the safe haven. But questions arise when he reaches The Refuge, mainly, how has he been able to sustain

multiple zombie bites and not change? He thinks he has found safety in the military compound

turned quarantine, but he was wrong. Even now there is a necromancer trying to make The Refuge their kingdom of the dead.

Book Details

  • Genre: Zombies, Horror
  • Expected Publication:  June 11, 2013
  • Publisher: Wyrding Ways Press
  • ISBN: 9781482757668

26992_114827105202358_5323092_n About the Author

Travis is the author of The Bonds of Blood, the first book in his epic fantasy series The Revenant   Wyrd Saga. He has also written a young adult novel called A Lament of Moonlight which is book   one of his pre-apocalypse series The Harbingers of Light. He is currently seeking publication for the first book of a third series, a zombie novel called Desolation. When he isn’t writing he is helping his family and trying to live a normal, under the radar life. His interests lie in cooking, gardening, green living, and human rights advocacy. He is a huge supporter of the Trevor Project and all agencies that seek to preserve natural resources and protect pets from abuse.

He has been writing since he was 14. He began writing a book called “The Calling of the Two” and while writing that on and off he started uncovering another idea.

“Yes, this is all well and good, but what about before? What happened in the world before these characters came into it?” He always knew there was a “before” and as he started wondering about it he got ideas. At first they were little ideas but as he discovered the names for my characters a whole story about them emerged.He started working on The Revenant Wyrd Saga several years back and he am very happy he did because hearing and documenting Jovian and Angelica’s story has been one wild ride.

He live in a remote part of upstate New York and honestly just hoofing around my neck of the woods gives me a ton of inspiration for my novels. He love research, and he love speculating on different ideas and theories.

Author Links

Website: http://www.travissimmons.net/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authortravissimmons

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/TravisSimmons5

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4342608.Travis_Simmons


 

Desolation

Excerpt #1

Nothing could have prepared me for this moment, on my knees cradling Conner’s head in my lap. I count the seconds, knowing any breath might be his last. The light is fading from him, leaving behind mere whispers of the clear blue eyes I love so much. I used to tell him his eyes reminded me of the sky at sunrise. That was another lifetime, before the virus came, when we were afforded lazy Saturday mornings. I brush a strand of brown hair from his eyes as I have done countless times, during happier moments when his life wasn’t leaking out of a throat wound, around my desperate grasp. I try not to let the grief show. I try not to think that at any moment he will be nothing but a husk of my lover, gnashing his teeth and moaning at my throat with a hunger only my flesh will sate. “Asher,” Conner’s raspy voice, so weak, and hopeless calls my attention from his blood throbbing around my clasped fingers. I try to put on a cheerful face for him despite the blood in his mouth, bubbling through his parted lips with his efforts to speak. He has always been able to see through my façade. “You will make it,” he tells me, as if his mere saying it will manifest the desired outcome. “You are my strong hero,” his voice dissolves into painful, wet coughs causing more blood to flow. It was supposed to be a happy time, our last summer before college. The year we got to break away and forge a life of our own. But it had all changed in that defining moment. The virus started in Georgia, a small town in the suburbs of Atlanta. At first people laughed when they heard the story of the naked woman who attacked the mailman when he came to her drive. Laughter quickly turned to fear, though, when the attacks continued in Washington, Alabama and New York. When they found their way to Pennsylvania, we were in the grips of a zombie infestation no one was prepared for. And how could you prepare for it? Conner and I had watched countless zombie movies and we weren’t prepared. Sure, you have your norm al zombies that shamble around and can’t catch a turtle in a wooden box. Those aren’t the scary ones, but the “speeders” who are much faster and less clumsy, are worse. Speeders are more abundant than regular zombies, unfortunately, but at least they are better than the infernals. I have only seen an infernal once on the road. They are fierce hunters capable of tracking and trapping their prey. They can think, which is terrifying, because if you have an “undead” out after your flesh, the last thing you want is a smart one. I want to say something, but as often happen words fail me when I need them most. I lean forward and kiss his lips one last time, remembering nights spent under the full moon, planning our future. Never had we thought our future would end like this. I remember holidays, and how Conner loved them as much as any child, laughing and kicking his feet when he found just the gift he wanted under the Christmas tree. My whiskers scratch against his face and I’m reminded how he hates facial hair, but I didn’t want to shave this morning. If I knew this would have been my last day with him, I would have done anything he wanted.

I start the engine and throw the truck into drive. I peel out of the gas station, their arms reaching for me, their fingers clawing the paint from the side of the vehicle. Before long I’m back on the road, door firmly closed and locked. I check in the mirror behind me, but the zombies are converging on the opposite side of the road, coalescing on a figure. I stop the truck and get out. “Hey,”

I yell to the stranger, hoping they have enough sense to move. But there’s something strange about the newcomer. I can tell it’s a woman, but she is dressed in rags and scraps of clothes that remind me of fallen leaves and her face is strangely white. She turns to look at me and I see it isn’t her face that’s so white, but a mask I can only imagine is porcelain. She cocks her head as if she hasn’t understood what I’m saying. Turning back to the zombies, she holds out a hand, and they kneel before her. Again she turns to look at me, and I back toward the truck, my mouth hanging open. A strange quality hangs in the air, almost like the charged air before a storm. Shadows seem to gather around the figure and a strange hush comes over the zombies. “Eff this,” I whisper and leap back into the truck, jamming it into drive as the first drops of rain fall from the sky. The terror I feel coursing through my veins has made the gun a permanent fixture in my hand.

Book Trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/embed/AnxbhXdnqpQ

Giveaway:

The giveaway for this tour is a Kindle Fire Giveaway! It’s going to be open for the whole tour, so we are hoping to get as many entries as we can.  This giveaway is for US residents only!

Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YjhkMjA2NmM4OWE3ZTVmZWNlNWJkZmVlNzAzMmU2OjU2/

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • melissa andrea

    Create. Inspre. Dare,

    Abdulhafeez Dangusau's Blog

    Meant to motivate/inspire/give u hacking tips nd give u Information Tech essentials (may be tricks)

    rileyreads

    A teen book and movie review blog

    Anastasia Vitsky

    Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

    Break Room Stories

    Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

    Being an Author

    Hints and guidance for writing your novel provided by the Paperback Diva. For any genre, any level of experience.

    Jan Moran's Smart & Stylish: Ideas to enrich your lifestyle

    Advice for the Good Life. Books, travel, entrepreneurship, beauty.

    Woodland Rambles

    A writer, a dog, and miles of trails

    Beth Ann Masarik

    Young Adult and New Adult author

    Bookish Babbles

    Reviews, Spotlights and Author info galore

    Book Monster Reviews

    Everything paranormal romance

    C.L. Parker

    Everything paranormal romance

    Judi Fennell

    fairy tales with a twist

    Jessa Slade

    Author of Paranormal Romance

    Lisa's Lair

    Online Home of Author Lisa Kessler

    Drake Braxton Author

    M/M Author Sharing Stories

    Way Out Texas Crime (and) Fiction

    Jay Allen, Detective and Wordsmith

    CAT JOHNSON

    NY Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

    ReadersAfterDark

    Everything paranormal romance

    sharkmomma

    adventures in writing...

    C.J.'s Daily Grind

    A writer's journey to create a new urban fantasy with vampires, werewolves and lots of hot sex.

    WEDDING HAIR TEXAS

    Official Website

    Common Sense

    A little Common Sense in a world of chaos

    Martial Way Academy

    Martial Arts & Fitness Education At Its Best!!!

